Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava was the first polytechnic in Slovakia, established in June 1937 under the name "Dr M R Štefánik's Institute of Technology". The school was renamed on 14th February 1939 to "Slovak Technical Institute". On 13th February 1991 the school changed its name to "Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava."

Slovak University of Technology is a public higher education institution. STU faculties have the right to make decisions and act on matters specified by the Higher Education Act on behalf of STU.

Slovak University of Technology is the second largest university in Slovakia. Its faculties are regularly placed at the top of ranking tables in terms of quality of its graduates. STU's graduates are among the most demanded on the Slovak labour market and earn the highest salaries among all Slovak university graduates.


Slovak University of Technology has 7 faculties: